Nigeria’s Oghenechovwe Ekpeki Wins $1,000 International Writing Prize

News Update
A file photo of Oghenechovwe Ekpeki.


Oghenechovwe Donald Ekpeki has won the 2020 Otherwise Award for “Ife-Iyoku, the Tale of Imadeyunuagbon”.

His piece, which was part of Dominion (an Anthology of Speculative Fiction from Africa and the African Diaspora, edited by himself alongside Zelda Knight and Aurelia Leo), would be handed the $1,000 prize at a virtual award ceremony to be held on October 30, 2021.

For the 2020 jury comprising of Chesya Burke, M.L. Clarke, Liz Henry (chair), Annalee Newitz, and Tochi Onyebuchi, this novella was a unanimous favorite.

Prior to its winning the Otherwise Award, ‘Ife-Iyoku’ was nominated for the Nebula Award for Best Novella.

It was also shortlisted for the Theodore Sturgeon Award and nominated for the BSFA Award.

The jury who chose Ekpeki’s book as the winner also released an “honor list” recognising other noteworthy works:

City of a Thousand Feelings, Anya Johanna DeNiro (Aqueduct)

“Helicopter Story”, Isabel Fall (Clarkesworld 1/20)

“Custom Options Available”, Amy Griswold (Fireside 1/20)

Depart, Depart, Sim Kern (Stelliform)

The Four Profound Weaves, R.B. Lemberg (Tachyon)

The Seep, Chana Porter (Soho)

“The Moon Room”, Maria Romasco Moore (Kaleidotrope Spring ’20)

The Mermaid, the Witch, and the Sea, Maggie Tokuda-Hall (Candlewick).

The Otherwise Award (formerly known as the Tiptree Award) celebrates science fiction, fantasy, and other forms of speculative narrative that expand and explore the understanding of gender.

Winner of the award receives $1,000 in prize money, a specially commissioned piece of original artwork, and chocolate.

Facebook Comments

Comments are closed.